Foods Containing Wheat

Food Containing Wheat

Here is a list of foods containing wheat. You may be shocked at much of what’s listed here. Even if a food says “wheat-free,” it still may contain gluten, such as barley malt or rye. This compilation is from the book “Wheat Belly” by Dr. William Davis.

 

Baguette

Barley

Beignet

Bran

Brioche

Bulgur

Burrito

Couscous

Crepe

Croutons

Durum

Einkorn

Emmer

Farina

Faro

Focaccia

Gnocchi

Graham flour

Hydrolyzed vegetable protein

Kamut

Matzo

Modified food starch

Orzo

Panko

Ramen

Roux

Rusk

Rye

Seitan

Semolina

Soba

Spelt

Strudel

Tart

Textured vegetable protein

Triticale

Udon

Wheat germ

Wraps

 

Do not use any “gluten-free” products that are made with rice starch, potato starch, cornstarch, or tapioca starch, since these can raise blood sugar levels into diabetic range. They should be used sparingly, if at all, as occasional treats.

 

Here’s a list of unexpected (to most people) sources of foods containing wheat and gluten:

Ales, beers, lagers

Bloody Mary mixes

Flavored coffees

Herbal teas made with wheat, barley or malt

Malt liquor

Flavored teas

Vodka distilled from wheat (Absolut, Grey Goose, Stolichnaya)

Whiskey distilled from wheat or barley

 

Many breakfast cereals have foods containing wheat in them. The obvious ones like Shredded Wheat and Wheaties, you should know, but there are others too. You may think they are wheat-free, but they are not. These include:

Bran cereals (All Bran, Bran Buds, Raisin Bran)

Corn flakes (Corn Flakes, Frosted Flakes, Crunchy Corn Bran)

Granola cereals

“Healthy” cereals (Smart Start, Special K, Grape Nuts, Trail Mix Crunch)

Muesli, Mueslix

Oat cereals (Cheerios, Cracklin’ Oat Bran, Honey Bunches of Oats)

Popped corn cereals (Corn Pops)

Puffed rice cereals (Rice Krispies)


Some cheeses may potentially have gluten:

Blue Cheese

Cottage cheese (not all)

Gogonzola cheese

Roquefort


Colorings, fillers, texturizers and thickeners are always suspect and therefore are best avoided. These include:

Artificial colors or flavors

Caramel coloring or flavors (questionable)

Dextrimaltose

Emulsifiers

Maltodextrin (sometimes)

Modified food starch

Stabilizers

Textured Vegetable Protein


Energy, protein and meal replacement bars are questionable as well, such as:

Clif Bars

Gatorade Pre-Game Fuel Nutrition bars

GNC Pro Performance bars

Kashi GoLean bars

Power Bars

Slim-Fast meal bars

 

It is difficult, and some say near impossible, to confidently obtain wheat-free and gluten-free foods at fast food places because of possible contamination in the oil used and even cooking surfaces. There are a few chains that are making an effort in this direction, though. These include: Subway, Arby’s, Wendy’s and Chipotle Mexican Grill. They either confidently claim that many of their products are gluten-free or else they offer a gluten-free menu.


I can also tell you from first-hand experience that Provino’s Restaurant in Cumming, GA has a lovely gluten-free menu with extremely good-tasting food on it. More people are becoming aware of this, so it never hurts to ask when you are eating out.

 

Other problem areas include:

Hot Cereals

Cream of Wheat

Farina

Malt-O-Meal

Oatmeal

Oat bran

Meats

Canned meats

Deli meats (luncheon meats, salami

Hot dogs

Imitation bacon

Imitation crabmeat

Hamburger (sometimes breadcrumbs are added)

Sausage

Turkey, self-basting

Sauces, salad dressings, and condiments

Gravies thickened with wheat flour

Ketchup

Marl syrup

Malt vinegar

Marinades

Miso

Mustards containing wheat

Salad dressings

Soy sauce

Teriyaki sauce

Seasonings

Curry powder

Seasoning mixes

Taco seasoning

Snacks and Desserts

Cake frosting

Candy bars

Chewing gum (powdered coatings)

Chex mixes

Corn chips

Dried fruit (lightly coated with flour)

Dry roasted peanuts

Fruit fillings with thickeners

Jelly beans (not including Jelly Bellies and Starburst)

Granola bars

Ice cream (cookies and cream, Oreo Cookie, cookie dough, cheesecake, chocolate malt)

Ice cream cones

Licorice

Nut bars

Pies

Potato chips (including Pringles)

Roasted nuts

Tiramisu

Tortilla chips, flavored

Trial mixes

Soups

Bisques

Broths, bouillon

Canned soups

Soup mixes

Soup stocks and bases

Soy and Vegetarian Products

Veggie burgers (Boca Burgers, Gardenburgers, Morningstar Farms)

Vegetarian “chicken” strips

Vegetarian chili

Vegetarian hot dogs and sausages

Vegetarian “scallops”

Vegetarian “steaks”

Sweeteners

Barley malt, barley extract

Dextrin and maltodextrin (maybe)

Malt, malt syrup and malt flavoring

Miscellaneous

Envelopes (glue)

Gloss and lip balms

Play-Doh

Prescriptions and over-the-counter medications

Nutritional supplements (some will say “gluten-free” on the label)

Lipstick

Stamps (glue)

A good resource for prescription drugs is www.glutenfreedrugs.com, a listing maintained by a pharmacist.

I know this is a pretty comprehensive list of foods containing wheat, but if you just stay away from processed foods, you can pretty much avoid most of them. My book, “Alive Health Recipe Book” gives you alternatives for most of these things, so don’t give up hope. Sometimes it can actually make your life simpler that way.

Top of Page

Go from "Foods Containing Wheat" to "Healthy Eating"

Go from "Foods Containing Wheat" to "Other Health Care Matters"


Barbara's new video series is available now. Check it out here.

Healthy Food Alternatives Video Series

Barbara's book "Alive Health Recipe Book" is published. Find out more here.


Free Month of Menus

With sign-up for monthly newsletter

Month of menus

Follow Me on Pinterest View Barbara Roberts's profile on LinkedIn